ANNEX 3

    Rome, 29 May - 7 June 1989

     Members invited by WHO

    Dr H. Blumenthal, Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

    Prof. K. Odusote, Associate Professor of Medicine, College of
    Medicine, University of Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria

    Prof. M.J. Rand, Department of Pharmacology, University of Melbourne,
    Melbourne, Australia  (Vice-Chairman)

    Prof. F.G. Reyes, Professor of Food Toxicology, Department of Food
    Science, State University of Campinas, Campinas, Sao Paulo, Brazil

    Prof. A. Somogyi, Head, Max von Pettenkofer Institute of the Federal
    Office of Public Health, Berlin (West)

    Dr J.H. Steadman, Senior Principal Medical Officer, Division of
    Toxicology and Environmental Protection, Department of Health, London,

     Members invited by FAO

    Mrs D.C. Kirkpatrick, Bureau of Chemical Safety, Health Protection
    Branch, Health and Welfare Canada, Ottawa, Canada  (Co-Rapporteur)

    Prof. K. Kojima, College of Environmental Health, Azabu University,
    Sagamihara-shi, Kanagawa-Ken, Japan  (Chairman)

    Dr P.M. Kuznesof, Division of Food Chemistry and Technology, Center
    for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, Food and Drug Administration,
    Washington, D.C., USA

    Mr J.F. Howlett, Head, Risk Assessment and Management Branch, Food
    Science Division, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, London,

    Mrs I. Meyland, National Food Agency, Ministry of Health, Soborg,


    Dr G. Burin, Toxicologist, Health Effects Division, Office of
    Pesticide  Programs, Environmental Protection Agency, Washington,
    D.C., USA  (WHO Consultant)

    Prof. C.L. Galli, Professor of Toxicology, Department of
    Pharmacological Sciences, University of Milan, Milan, Italy  (WHO
     Temporary Adviser)

    Mr T. Hallas-Moller, Commission of the European Communities, Brussels,
    Belgium  (WHO Temporary Adviser)

    Dr Y. Hayashi, Chief, Division of Pathology, National Institute of
    Hygienic Sciencies, Tokyo, Japan  (WHO Temporary Adviser)

    Dr J.L. Herrman, Scientist, International Programme on Chemical
    Safety, World Health Organization, Geneva, Switzerland  (WHO Joint

    Dr T. Kemeny, Head, Food Chemicals Section, Toxicological Evaluation
    Division, Bureau of Chemical Safety, Health & Welfare Canada, Ottawa,
    Canada  (WHO Temporary Adviser)

    Dr H. Irausquin, Division of Toxicological Review and Evaluation,
    Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, Food and Drug
    Administration, Washington, D.C., USA  (WHO Temporary Adviser)

    Dr N. Rao Maturu, Food Standards Officer, Joint WHO/FAO Food Standards
    Programme, FAO, Rome, Italy

    Dr P. Shubik, Fellow, Green College, Oxford, England  (WHO Temporary

    Mr R. Top, Vice-Chairman, Codex Committee on Food Additives and
    Contaminants, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries, The Hague, The
    Netherlands  (WHO Temporary Adviser)

    Dr G.J. van Esch, Bilthoven, The Netherlands  (WHO Temporary Adviser)

    Prof. R. Walker, Professor of Food Science, Department of
    Biochemistry, University of Surrey, Guildford, England  (WHO Temporary

    Dr J. Weatherwax, Food Quality and Consumer Protection Group, Food
    Quality and Standards Service, Food Policy and Nutrition Division,
    FAO, Rome, Italy  (FAO Joint Secretary)

    See Also:
       Toxicological Abbreviations